top of page

I cannot fix it!

Genuine total surrender is a personal sovereign preference for Jesus Christ Himself.

--Oswald Chambers, Utmost for His Highest

 

I experienced a Wilderness First Aid (WFA) course this past weekend with several other Pine Valley staff members. Our instructor was fantastic. He would teach, then we would complete a very realistic scenario (as either the victim or the rescuer), and finish by debriefing our reactions and decisions. I didn't think my emotions would be as engaged as they were at times, but even in a simulation, your imagination can run away with you.

Our job is to care for wounds or injuries to the best of our ability and keep people alive until the real professionals get there. Or until we can take them to the real professionals.

Listen, I cannot fix it.

(I don't know that you want me to try either)

By the end of the day Saturday, I was in tears heading to handle the last rescue scenario. It was so difficult for me to compartmentalize and recognize it just as practice as the words "this could be real life" just kept running through the ticker tape of my mind.

I found it difficult to move past the traumas of last summer...Lexi's death and Leah's concussion. People experience head wounds or blunt force trauma all the time.

One car accident. One misstep. And everything could change.

While I left the weekend confident that I could be of some assistance in an emergency situation in the wilderness, I left even more confident that I did not have the skills to actually fix anyone. My new-found skills were meant to get people to the people who could actually revive, heal, provide intense medical treatment.

And then, it hit me. The spiritual allegory of it all.

This world. The darkness. The choices of others. People I love in pain. My own depravity. The wars that ravage children's innocence all across the world. Poverty. Suffering. Pride.

I cannot fix it!

My role is to get people to the Person who could actually revive, heal, provide intense medical treatment to their insides.

I cannot fix it.

Forgive my repetition, but any "doer" out there knows why I continue to emphasize this.

At Bible study last night we prayed about some very heavy topics in each of our own lives and one phrase stood out:

His Grace supersedes the darkness.

In the moments in my life where I feel overwhelmed by darkness and convinced that I must do something to solve the problem, I want to RUN with

that person,

that situation,

that thing

straight into the arms of Jesus.

To surrender my efforts, my drive, the problem to Him.

And I have to remember who He is. He is the professional. He has fixed it.

 

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world. John 16:33

 


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page