top of page

My attempt at being technologically savvy...

“It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory

 

I will be posting my journey here regularly and using some of my favorite quotes along the way. The written (and oral) word is powerful and it lives on beyond generations and fallen dynasties.

I was recently reminded of the importance to record what the Lord is doing and has done, that I might be able to look back and say "GOD IS GOOD!"

I am currently one of the Program Directors at Pine Valley Camp in Ellwood City, PA. I help with summer staff recruitment and hiring (we hire over 60 college and high school aged students each summer) and camper recruitment, work with partner ministries in and around the Pittsburgh area to recruit and disciple campers, help create the theme and curriculum for the summer, and train and equip the staff.

I want to take time in later posts to introduce many of you to the wonderful full time staff I work with, since many of you may not be able to come to Pine Valley to meet them in person.

Hopefully, I will blog more regularly than I have in the past. I intend on shorter clips or "moments" if you will. I think I have procrastinated writing in the past because I always have so much to tell and what feels like so little time to tell it in. So for now, I will communicate "moments".

Please pray for staff. We still desperately need guy counselors, a waterfront director, a nurse, and a girl crew leader (to lead and disciple our high school girl staff). And pray that we would not be half-hearted creatures at Pine Valley....but whole-hearted people who love the Lord with all our HEART, all our SOUL, all our MIND, and all our STRENGTH...that we would not turn down the infinite joy set before us of loving those Christ sets before us.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page